Ten Questions with Ken Samples

In “Ten Questions with Ken Samples,” Christian apologist Dayton Hartman asks me about a variety of subjects from baseball to philosophy to church involvement to books. Topics include:

  • The thinker with the most influence on my own theology
  • The importance of staying involved with a local church
  • The age-of-the-earth debate
  • Recommended reading for those interested in the age of the earth and/or human origins
  • The importance of having a “thinking faith”
  • Rising interest among American Christians in apologetics
  • Advice for aspiring apologists

Take a look at the article and see if you think my answers are as good as Dayton’s questions.

  One thought on “Ten Questions with Ken Samples

  1. David R. Aubuchon
    January 29, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Sir, I think your answers in the above article are as lucid and enlightening as ever. There is another question, however, that Bill O’Reilly once posed toward the end of his nightly program a few years ago, which I always wished I could have asked of you directly: “Was John Lennon a pinhead or a patriot?” This may represent a false dichotomy, but I knew you would have a unique perspective on the inquiry nonetheless. Blessings! 🙂

  2. January 31, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Hi, David.

    I hope you are doing well.

    If those are my only two categories for Beatle John, then as a songwriter I would say he was extremely gifted (Help and A Day In the Life are two of my very favorite Beatles songs). But in terms of his worldview, and especially his political views, I would say his thinking was convoluted.

    All the best.

  3. Lloyd I. Cadle
    February 1, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Hi Ken! I hope that all is going well! I am in my car a lot, so I listen to a lot of talk radio. Unfortunately, much of what is on Christian radio is not worth my time. So, I listen to politics, some sports and some of EWTN radio.

    One apologist that I really enjoy (although he is Catholic) is Patrick Madrid. You may not agree with him on a lot of issues, but I think that you would really enjoy his program. In fact, he sounds like you on the radio!

    Many Blessings,

  4. February 5, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Hi, Lloyd.

    I hope you and your family are doing well.

    I know Patrick Madrid. We used to discuss and debate Catholic-Protestant issues back when I worked at the Christian Research Institute.

    Best regards.

  5. Ian Clark
    February 8, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Hello Ken,
    I found your answers thoughtful and perceptive and I especially feel that the importance of the junction of faith and reason cannot be overstated! In my own discussions with my brother this element has been crucial in maintaining our discussion (going on three years now!)
    I am writing to comment on your new Straight Thinking with Dave and Jeff, which I highly recommend to anyone reading this. You guys actually brought me to joyful tears in your question regarding mentors. In your question on sin I found great resonance with all your answers – I think all thinking Christians struggle in these areas, especially in the area of not being able to “live up” to the Christian life as much as we would like. I personally feel that THIS was the thorn in the side Paul spoke of, not some physical malady. There is actually a hint of this in the letter to the Laodiceans (at least the translation or version I have access to) that also goes to Jeff’s comments on Canon (for some excellent material on Canon see James R. White: Scripture Alone – for Jeff.)
    Key comments for me were:
    Jeff: I struggle with a critical nature and like him I learn quickly which gives me an impatience that really plagues me. For me, slowing down has two benefits: I can better realize the other’s sticking point – always different than mine, and I have actually learned things!
    Dave: No regrets. This really really resonated with me as the Lord has shown me that all my weak areas are where he’s blessed me most. As Captain Kirk once said “I need my pain.” We are under the guiding hand of God whether we believe or not, but for those of us who believe we come to see this in our own past remarkably clearly. In one Paradoxes class Hugh called us crackpots and he’s right, it is though the cracks that the Lord’s light shines brightest!
    Ken: Being part of the church and a Christian community. This goes against my grain personally but the Lord insisted. The rewards of joining a church community and working with people completely overwhelm the discomfort of stepping out in faith in this way. I think many who have a lot of emotional pain in their past have this issue, but the Lord said “It is not good for man to be alone” (Gen 2:18a) and fellow believers help us, correct us and hone us.
    Thank you for such a “probative” podcast. I respect all of you at RTB and I delighted in getting to know you in this new way. I eagerly look forward to the next segment and please assure Joe that you are right: we don’t buy that he’s average (he has demonstrated ‘tells’ on more than one occasion!) and I for one would like to hear more.
    A word to Stephen Hawking: Philosophy is very definitely not dead!
    Yours in Christ,
    Ian

  6. February 12, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    Ian:

    Thank you for your gracious and insightful comments. I’m very pleased that the Straight Thinking program “Christian Intellectual Roots of RTB Scholars” has so positively impacted you. Thanks for listening and supporting our apologetics efforts.

    Shalom.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.