According to Winston Churchill, Albert Speer was the most important Nazi because his competence in managing the German war machine (as minister of armaments and munitions) lengthened the war by two years. Yet as the powerful quote below reveals, Speer joined the Nazi Party without applying critical thinking. A lesson for the ages (1 Thessalonians 5:21).

My decision to enter Hitler’s party was no less frivolous. Why, for example, was I willing to abide by the almost hypnotic impression Hitler’s speech had made upon me? Why did I not undertake a thorough, systematic investigation of, say, the value or worthlessness of the ideologies of all the parties? Why did I not read the various party programs, or at least Hitler’s Mein Kampf and Rosenberg’s Myth of the Twentieth Century? As an intellectual I might have been expected to collect documentation with the same thoroughness and to examine various points of view with the same lack of bias that I had learned to apply to my preliminary architectural studies…. As a result, I remained uncritical…

— Albert Speer, Inside the Third Reich (New York: Macmillan, 1970), 22.

  One thought on “Quote of the Week: Albert Speer

  1. Onyeka Nzeribe
    March 2, 2012 at 12:31 am

    A word for the wise

Leave a Reply

