Welcome to Reflections

In a profound sense we are what we think.

The Christian worldview highly values logic and rationality, which find their source in God. As the only creatures made in the image of God (Genesis 1:26–27), human beings possess superior intellectual faculties. Humans alone read and think. They pursue, discover, and reflect upon the truths of logic, mathematics, science, philosophy, religion, and the arts. Only human beings develop a comprehensive world-and-life view and philosophize about whether their belief systems best match reality.

I guess you could say that I was born to philosophize. Even as a kid I was interested in the big questions of life. One of my baseball coaches nicknamed me “Professor.” Thus this blog serves as a vehicle to convey my personal reflections on topics that fall into such broad categories as theology, philosophy, logic, values, history, science, and culture.

However, be forewarned that my idiosyncratic personality also impels me to opine on five of my lifelong favorite topics: World War II, the JFK assassination, The Beatles, Major League Baseball’s “Splendid Splinter”—Ted Williams, and the Los Angeles Lakers.

In the best sense, my hope is that this blog will help and challenge Christians to think carefully about the implications of their worldview.

Kenneth Richard Samples

  One thought on “Welcome to Reflections

  1. January 12, 2011 at 4:12 am

    Or, to say it differently, only humans blog. (As far as I know, though maybe some chimp somewhere has a blog.)

    🙂

  2. Steve
    January 28, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Looking forward to your posts on World War II. I think it is the foundational narrative or origin myth of my formative years.

  3. Joe
    January 28, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Wonderful list Ken. I have forwarded to my five young adult children – all currently in college. God bless you brother.

  4. January 28, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Hi Ken,
    Looking forward to following your blog!
    You are an inspiration.

    Cheers
    Tom

  5. William Peed
    January 28, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Hi, Dr. Samples, love RTB, and a lot of your stuff, tool. I graduated from Wheaton class of 1960, very thankful for that.
    Your list was great, but of no value to me. Someone has got to teach me HOW to do all those things, like motherhood and the flag.
    Still, I don’t want to be neg. just no gas in my tank. billy

  6. Mike
    January 31, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Hey Ken,

    This is great. One to regularly visit.

  7. William Peed
    February 1, 2011 at 9:03 am

    the MOM cd was great for January. I wish evry Christian could hear that. It was a thing between Hawkin and Ross. I think Ross is smarter than Hawkin!!

  8. Lloyd I. Cadle
    February 2, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Ken –

    I am extremely pleased that you now have your own website. I already have it on my “favorites” on my computer. (Along with the Riddleblog, John the Steadfast, WELS and Issues, Etc.)

    I am sure that I will learn a lot from it. I hope that it is okay to have a Lutheran perspective on things concerning theology.

    You and I are both big Beatles fans. I’m sure that we both have our “breakfast with the Beatles”!

    I hope that we can visit sometime if you come to the Phoenix area. Both you and Pastor Kim! (Perhaps for a spring training game.)

    Blessings,

    Lloyd I. Cadle

Leave a Reply

