Ken’s Top 50 World War II Films, Part 1

June 6 marked the 67th anniversary of D-Day, the invasion of Normandy, France that resulted in a decisive victory for Allied forces during World War II. In honor of that war, in which my own father fought, I present my top 50 WWII feature films and made-for-TV movies (in two parts). (Be advised that some of these films contain material that may be objectionable to some viewers.)

My favorite movies about World War II are those that reveal insights into the human condition of the brave men who fought this catastrophic war. Realistic fighting scenes and historic military technology also warrant my steadfast attention.

Ken’s Top 50 WWII Movies (1–25)

  1. Band of Brothers
  2. Saving Private Ryan
  3. To End All Wars
  4. Conspiracy
  5. Patton
  6. Schindler’s List
  7. Combat!
  8. Judgment at Nuremberg
  9. Nuremberg
  10. The Pacific
  11. The Longest Day
  12. Midway
  13. The Great Escape
  14. To Hell and Back
  15. The Pianist
  16. Sands of Iwo Jima
  17. Halls of Montezuma
  18. Tora! Tora! Tora!
  19. Enemy at the Gates
  20. U-571
  21. The Eagle Has Landed
  22. Escape from Sobibor
  23. Raid on Rommel
  24. Mister Roberts
  25. PT 109

I’ll post the second half of my list next week.

For study concerning the ethics of war from a Christian perspective, see, Evangelical Ethics, 3rd ed. by John Jefferson Davis and The Life and Death Debate by J. P. Moreland and Norman L. Geisler. For a brief outline of just war theory see my previous post.

3 responses to “Ken’s Top 50 World War II Films, Part 1

  1. You can certainly see your expertise in the paintings you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  2. Im rewriting my message cuz I’m not sure if the first one got posted cuz I wasnt loggied in But I have to agree with you Ken on most of your selections! Maybe move a couple around but not many! I do have a slight dissagreement though. Band of Brothers shouldnt be on this list Because it wasnt a movie but I do agree with you and I think that Band of Brothers is or has to be one of the BEST WWII stories. Ive watched it more times than I can remember!! But it not being a Movie is the only reason that it doesnt belong on here. But when I’m done here I think that I’m gonna see if I can watch Jusgement at Nuremberg. I havent seen that movie in like forever and I want to thank you for havin it on here cuz although it is one of the finest WWII movies made I kind of forgot about it! I dont know how. But anyway thanks for posting this cuz I’m gonna use your list to watch some movies with out having to pick my brain to think of some titles!! Anyways Thanks again!

  3. Pingback: Reflections On A War Movie: Lone Survivor | The Readers Bureau

Leave a Reply

